Dryden Update: Fruit Will Come – Being Patient

You’ve got to be patient, Mr Dryden. These things take time.

Those words are not ones that I would have heard mentioned to my Dad. Chiefly because my Dad was not rushing any process he was in. He was in a position in life where he knew things would not always turn around immediately. He was a very patient man. He was patient with his children for sure. Others would be concerned about how they were going to turn out in education, in society and in life in general. My Dad’s idea of concern was to channel things in prayer and then leave it to God to do His bit while he went about and diligently did his best by his children. I look at those three children now and at least two of them – my brother and sister – turned out fine. I’ll leave it for other observers to assess how I’m turning out.

In any case the spiel about patience is with regard to my current position in life. A position where patience is of the utmost importance. Things in life are happening. Opportunities opening, developments taking place and fascinating developments too, but on the whole patience is still required to see fruit of what’s been sown. I know what I’ve done and thank God, He knows as well. I know who I trust and thank God, He knows as well. He knows what will take place and Hs issue is whether I know enough to trust Him in the process. That’s where the patience is required.

Meanwhile things on the blog are going relatively well. The Daniel Files is entering a fascinating phase, September saw the shift from the narrative to the visionary and that’s proviing to be an intriguing study for me. The exploration of what the Spirit says to seven churches has gone past the half way point now and each and every church still has something so profound to say about the state of God’s church both then and today.

The Word of Wisdom series has started off very well and over October its set to explore the matter of contrasting earthly wisdom to heavenly wisdom, which is pivotal to life especially for those of us who claim to follow Jesus. Dryden Links is a great blessing to me to share resources that have been a great blessing to me. I hope soon that this series will share more than the actual links to the content – pray for that, please.

Where Dryden Shorts is concerned, that is a highly enjoyable outlet for the challenge of the word in short. One of the highlights of the blog continues to be the Dryden Blog Conversation. That is covering so many areas and triggering so many areas of life that I don’t take the time to write about. It does not go without saying how grateful I am for my brother – he turned out fine, just like I said. Let’s get it clear, his views and the basis of them at times are not in line with my own, but I don’t find him to be disrespectful. Indeed I think what he says is deliberately provative not for the sake of courting controversy, but for the purpose of reminding us who read what he has to say that we cannot afford to life a life without reflection. We cannot live effectively and fruitfully without ever being mindful of the base on which we live. That requires thought, that requires interrogation, that requires the humility to appreciate where we don’t know and why the quest to know is more worthwhile than other pursuits that consume our time.

October is a special month as far as my brother is concerned – not so much for his view on it – more because of what he means to me and what took place in the month xx years ago. As the month kicks off the final quarter of the year, I’m hoping to continue to honour my brother with the conversation on here.

There are people in the spheres of influence in which I live that need Jesus. A number of them have not even heard about Him. I know Him to be someone worth knowing. I know Him to be keen on people getting to know Him and growing in knowing Him. Help me to be careful to be about that business and supporting others as they go about Kingdom business as well – here and around the world.

I’m grateful for your prayers as you continue to support the blog by reading the entries. Please keep it going, I am not in a position to do without them and I know the benefit I expereince as well as my loved ones.

Lets go on in October … I know the fruit will come, if I am patient.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.