Revelation and Rebuke

He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Simon Peter replied, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” And Jesus answered him, “Blessed are you, Simon Bar-Jonah! For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my Father who is in heaven.

Matthew 16:15-17 (ESVUK)

What an honour it must be to have an insight that could only be granted by the heavenly Father.

Whatever others said about him, Simon Peter was able to boldly announce that the man asking the questions was none other than the promised Messiah, the Son of God Himself. Imagine that moment, getting it spot on.

 From that time Jesus began to show his disciples that he must go to Jerusalem and suffer many things from the elders and chief priests and scribes, and be killed, and on the third day be raised. And Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him, saying, “Far be it from you, Lord! This shall never happen to you.”

Matthew 16:21-22 (ESVUK)

Then imagine hearing this promised Saviour who would restore Israel to its former glories talking about dreadful things happening to him and facing a horrific murder that has no resemblance to the glory of the one who is lauded as being in the line of the great King David. No. That could not be happeneing to this guy and as the one who had the insight on who he is, it’s only fitting that he helps him out and gets the story straight by straightening out who he is.

But he turned and said to Peter, “Get behind me, Satan! You are a hindrance to me. For you are not setting your mind on the things of God, but on the things of man.”

Matthew 16:23 (ESVUK)

Following Jesus should not be on my terms and conditions. It shouldn’t be based on a picture of a Saviour/Hero figure who rescues me from whatever low I feel and makes me feel happy wthout ever challenging me. Following Jesus should not be something about setting up a figure in my head for my convenience that I can throw all my best wishes on and expect them to be realised because this figure is like a genie just there to fulfil all my wishes. That is not following Jesus at all. That is following things from a human perspective.

It’s apparent in the ways certain portrayals of Jesus are put across that conveniently agrees with the going cultural trend. It’s evident in the ways that certain depictions of Jesus sees Him never opposing the way of life that is pushed by some. It is even there on the personal level when unpleasant circumstances in life arise and the hope is that our idea of Jesus will eliminate the danger and take us over any of those harsh impacts involved.

Jesus did not lead a comfortable life and did not promise that for those who followed Him. Jesus did not lead a convenient life and did not promise that for those who followed Him. Jesus poured out His life in obedience to God and demonstrating the Kingdom and inviting others to find rest in it. Jesus’ consistent challenge to those that chose to follow Him was to a life that would only be found in loss and sacrifice. Sure, Jesus presented rewards and benefits to following Him both in this life and beyond – but it was always very clear that following Him was to be on His terms and His conditions.

And we will look at those terms and conditions soon …

Prayer: Dear heavenly Father. I need You to give me insight into who Jesus really is. I can only see Him for real because You illuminate Him by your Spirit in Your word and in my being. I can only recognise Him because of the work You graciously do in and through me. Help me to treasure the insights You give on the revelation of Your Son. And as I treasure those insights humble me to only go by what You reveal about Your Son. Help me not to be focused on the human perspective, but as You give the insight, also give the attitude of humility that seeks to see things from Your perspective. Thank You for the insight of revelation and the necessary gracious rebukes that stops me veering off from seeing Jesus for who He really is and following Him.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.