Abiding Not Associating

Part of my testimony is that I am used to being associated with Jesus.

Growing up in a church background, aware of the rhythms of church life, familiar with the stylings of expressions of church life it was easy for me to be so acclimatised to it that I became an associate of Jesus. I wouldn’t have said so at the time. At the time I would have merely acknowledged the key phrases and words that ensured that others knew I was a part of the club. The reality was, however, that I was an associate. I was in the sphere, I knew how to hang around with those who were making the noises and was content with my lot.

That arrangement, however, was seriously challenged when troubles really hit. When that happened I was presented with a choice. The invitation to follow Jesus was not based on repeating those phrases and words. It was not based on regular attendance and appropriate participation in church functions. It was based on ongoing and active faith expressed in trust in Him and a desire to live in Him and His life to live through me. The invitation was to genuinely experience His love and see how the right response to that was about expressing His love in a life of obedience and dependence.

This invitation was given knowing full well that it was also an acknowledgement that life was not going to get easier. There was, however, an opportunity for life to get sweeter in knowing the Jesus on whose life I would now be depending more than ever.

That was the challenge. Don’t just take His kindness with a polite nodding of the head and a measly, mumbled thanks. Don’t just beg for His help in a crisis and then forget Him once the crisis was over. Learn to love Him, learn to live in Him, learn to do and be everything pleasing to Him by the Spirit that He generously gives for everyday life.

That was the invitation – whether I would live by abiding rather than associating.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.