A Dryden Blog Conversation (ADBC): 01 – Opening

My brother David and I have been conversing about a wide range of issues for a few decades. He blogs over there and I blog right here. There are things that he blogs about that I find fascinating and I’m aware that he enjoys a few of the blogs that I’ve posted from time to time. There is a mutual appreciation thing going on between us although we acknowledge the contrasting perspectives we have on fundamental issues.

In a conversation I had with him recently, it occurred to me that it would be really good to share elements of our conversation on the blogs. It’s worth sharing the conversation to stimulate thought on these matters and to see how they can be explored.

The format that the blog conversation will take will be a post where he answers a few questions I ask and then I have a chance to engage with those answers if need be and he can also ask questions that I can answer.

David is a diligent thinker and writer. He seeks to be grounded in the positions he takes – not relying on sentiment or referring to intriguing abstract things like ‘common-sense’. His writing challenges me especially because of the degree of research he often takes to establish his position. That challenges me to go back and think through again why I believe what I believe. That’s a good and healthy thing in my view and I believe I can in some ways be able to likewise challenge him to consider things too. The desire here is that by sharing the conversation we will encourage you as the reader to likewise consider why you take the position you do on the issues we explore.

David and I have different religious foundations for our worldviews. Those differences are bound to shape some of the approaches we have, but the conversation is not primarily about our theological or religious differences. As well as that, having blogged as often as we have – and certainly as intensely as David has – there may be posts we have written that helps answers those questions, so be prepared to check out some of those links as well.

So with those introductory comments established, allow me to get the conversation going with just two questions that I look forward to David answering:

Q1 – It appears as though what underpins a lot of people’s quest for liberties is a referral to human rights. Do human rights exist?

Q2 – What music do you enjoy listening to at the moment and why?

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

86 thoughts on “A Dryden Blog Conversation (ADBC): 01 – Opening

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.