Tell Me That Again, Please

When The Dark Knight was released in the cinema, I had the privilege of watching it there.

It is a privilege to watch a movie in a cinema.

I remember watching it and being totally blown away by it. The story, the performances, the twists and turns, the outcome. It was not just a good time out. It was probably the greatest cinematic experience of my life. It was so good that I went to watch it again in the cinema. And again. And again.

A good question that some might ask would be, why would I do that? The answer was very simple, really. I loved the story that much that I wanted to see it told again. Sure there might have been bits and bobs that I didn’t notice on the first viewing, but that wasn’t the driver to watch it again. It was simply that the story gripped me sufficiently to compel me to watch it on a number of occasions afterwards. And I never got bored of watching it.

There is something even more compelling, however, than The Dark Knight. There is news that I came across that has gripped me to an even greater degree than that which got me in a cinema on a fair few occasions. Indeed it grips me to this day and no matter how people think I have got used to it so I might not need reminding of it, the truth to me is that I love to be reminded of this news. I love to hear it again. I love to hear different people express it and present it. I love to hear the news resound in my experience time and time again. I have not grown bored of it in a lifetime of hearing it and especially a lifetime dedicated to sharing it and seeing the impact of that news transform lives.

The news is about how a corrupt and devastating rule was brought to an end. The news is about how evil was dethroned and good enthroned. The news is about not just a new sheriff in town – it’s about a new king on the throne. It’s about the return of the rightful king on the throne. The proper one worthy of ruling the affairs of men.

It’s the news that a humble man from humble beginnings was revealed to be the truly exalted one even as he expressed that in humility to the point of crucifixion.

It’s the news that the proud, the haughty and the arrogant don’t win in the end. It’s the news that the cruel, devious and selfish don’t conquer at the climax. It’s the news that the poor in Spirit inherit the greatest kingdom possible. It’s the news that those who mourn receive the ultimate comfort and consolation. It’s the news that the meek inherit something so great that those ambitious to dominate will be in envy. It’s the news that those in voracious pursuit of what is right shall have their appetite satisfied in a manner no top cuisine could ever satiate. It’s the news that the merciful obtain mercy. It’s the news that the pure in heart receive the greatest vision possible. It’s the news that the peacemakers are credited with the premier entitlement available.

I want to hear this again and again. I love to hear this story. I love to get this news into my being over and over. It never gets boring, it never gets tired, it never gets stale. It is not something you can exhaust just by the very central character of the news.

Jesus is Lord to the glory of God the Father.

It’s a simple sentence – that opens up an entire universe of glorious news, amazing stories and a reality that is greater than any that can be imagined.

Telling me will be cheaper than the cinema tickets that I ended up getting to watch The Dark Knight – but the news is of such a great value that nothing is of greater worth.

So I really don’t mind if you tell me that again.

(Photo by Klim Sergeev on Unsplash)

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.