A Prayer of Thanks: For Your Faithfulness

Dear Heavenly Father:

You are amazing.

It is incredible considering the kind of love that you have given that I should be among those who called your children. That I should have the privilege of calling you my Father because of right relationship established through your only Son. That I should enjoy this wonderful privilege because of your Spirit living in me. It is tremendous. It is both breath-taking and a reason to utter such words of praise and adoration that language itself could be exhausted whilst never ending the ways in which worship could be offered to you.

Father – you are faithful.

Through the years, through the months, through the weeks, through the days, through the hours, through the minutes – you have been faithful. Providing for needs, rescuing the perishing, salvaging the wasted, restoring the broken and lifting up the downhearted. This is what you do – consistently. Even when I am faithless – you remain faithful. When I am full of doubt, you remain faithful. When I wander from your path of righteousness, you remain faithful. When I feel lonely and abandoned, you remain faithful. You do not leave me on my own. You do not leave me without hope. You do not leave me without your love. You remain faithful.

That has been abundantly apparent in 2020. Opening doors where I was not expecting. Creating opportunities where I did not perceive them. Leaving me in a position where at the end of the year, I am all the better for knowing you than I was at the start of the year. Placing me in the position where I’m a better person for the experiences I’ve endured and enjoyed over the year. I have so much to be grateful for in what’s transpired this year: There are people I’ve never met previously who have not just entered my life but enlarged it gloriously. There are relationships that were dormant for years, that you have reactivated to remarkable results.

You have come through for me in extraordinary ways and in it all shown how you are faithful. For everything that you have done has highlighted your call on my life – on our lives – to follow you, to trust you, to focus on you and give you glory, honour and praise that is truly due to you because in everything you do, you are faithful. You are the only one who is totally trustworthy.

Thank you. Not just for what you’ve done as well as what you haven’t done. Thank you for who you are – for who you continue to be, for who you are always. Thank you for your faithfulness. My desire is to learn to trust you more in the light of that faithfulness.

Thank you, Father.

(Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash)

For Your Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.