Keep on Going: A Dryden Update

It is a delight to blog.

The platform to put words together and share them with those who have access is brilliant. I love the writing thing and blogging is a tremendous platform for that.

2020 has been a particularly busy year for blogging and it’s been great to be able to show the writing talents of others on the blog. I want to continue to blog and use this as a place to share the talents of others from time to time.

There are also, however, some other opportunities opening up that means that I may not be as prolific as I have been in recent years. The current plan is to keep blogging at least four times a week for the next few months. It’s going to be a bit weird not blogging every day – it’s a great discipline as a well as an outlet. The change, however, is for good reason, which I hope to share in due course.

Meanwhile as the previous blogs have noted, I’ve got a lot to be thankful to God for all He has done. My immediate family are well, which I’m delighted about. Though there have been ups and downs in the last year, I would happily admit that there have been a lot more ups than downs as well as the quality of good has substantially outweighed the bad. That has not been down to any brilliance or skill on my part. Neither would it be possible with crucial people around me, with me, for me and supporting me. Key among those people remain my precious daughters whose growth in love as well as intellect has cheered me considerably. More than those, however, is their mother, my beautiful, faithful, resourceful and bountiful beloved wife. It is frustrating being married to me – she continues to patiently endure those frustrations and celebrates the grace of God that from time to time alleviates that frustration. There is no success or progress in the story of my life without her.

Where others see reasons to be fearful, miserable and stingy, God continues to grant opportunities to be faithful, joyful and generous. His grace is allowing me so far to take up some of those opportunities and there’s more ahead. This blog is certainly one of those opportunities and I seek to continue to use it for the glory and honour of the God who rescued me, restored me and reinvigorates me. Whether that’s through the Dryden Shorts, the profiles on biblical characters or the exploration of Kingdom Matters, my desire is to please Him by maintaining that rhythm of content for the time being.

Thank you for reading this blog and the other entries. I appreciate the time you take to do so and hope that you’re blessed in the experience. Not just blessed, but see the opportunity to be a blessing to others also. Not for me, or even for you, here’s the hope – that you’re doing it all, as I endeavour to live my life …

(Photo by Dan Counsell on Unsplash)

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.