JJ 24 #27: When I Get Irritable

I get irritable sometimes, so it’s a work of grace to drag me out of that when I get there and need to consider those things.

Even the mechanics of things can make me appreciate the admirable. Take blogging, for example. It’s something that I’ve been doing for nearly two decades. I appreciate that in that time, the mood has moved on from expression in that form, but I am appreciative and admire those who still do it and do it well. I still love this form of expression and admire those who persist with it, even if it’s not recognised by hundreds of thousands of views.

Thinking about the admirable and taking the time to applaud the admirable not only lifts the irritability but also inspires me to return to work. Work on being consistent and serving in the power God gives to serve. It lifts my focus and vision to Jesus, who was keen to be about His father’s work. The admirable in the work of others makes me eager to explore where the work will take me.

That kind of approach led to delving into other creative pursuits. It’s the type of approach that got me connecting with other individuals and finding great joy in different Kingdom projects. I got to see how they did what they did, learn more from them, and applaud their efforts. Those create experiences and memories that support me also when I get irritable or annoyed.

God puts those experiences in place, as well as the beautiful catalogue of the good in the Scripture, to remind me that He is good, what He does is good, and when it culminates in the full expression of His Kingdom, it will be very good. So there’s no need to get bogged down in the frustrations and irritabilities. There’s no need to dwell on why things are not working and get hung up on that. This truth of who God is can lift the vision to the solution and the Prince of Peace.

For His Name’s Sake

C. L. J. Dryden

Shalom

2 thoughts on “JJ 24 #27: When I Get Irritable

  1. That needs a humungous AMEN!

    I love the human frailty coming through in what you write here, we all have that frailty though some of us don’t know it yet. But recognising it for what it is means we can look somewhere else and to someone else (the One who is never frail, but is strong in weakness). I’m slowly learning to be strong in weakness, Chris, and I know you are too. It sounds counter-intuitive. But it’s where the peace and the joy are.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.