A Matter Of Honour

Among other things, I enjoy a good episode of Columbo. I enjoy it because I like the Columbo character and his intrepid pursuit of the murderer. There are different ways that the lieutenant will persist in tracking his culprit.

If you do this living thing right, there are times you’ll need to persist in tracking someone. It’s especially necessary when you recognise the need to honour someone. I don’t think you need an excuse to honour someone. I don’t think you need a special day to honour someone. It’s a bit interesting that set days of the year are chosen to do that. It’s better to know that you can just think about someone and honour them. Speak well of them. Bless them with encouragement and support for what they do. Gift them in a way that befits their character.

I heard someone recently say that they honoured their parents because it’s what the Bible instructed. I think there is a degree to which it comes across as though you’re complying with an instruction at first, but in a while of understanding the heart of God and learning to be led by Him, there is no sense in which you do something to tick a box. You regard reverentially the heart of honour and you notice the person is honourable. To them you give honour.

I did not need a date to honour this person, it is today and I honour this person. This person has made a great difference to my life from the moment he was a conscious part of it. He has behaved with diligence and dignity. His commitment to knowing and living the truth even when it brings him at odds with others around him is more than commendable. It is remarkable to see his resilience against the odds. The fact that he’s not just still alive, but he’s consistent with thought-provoking content is testament at least to his regard for God. If others held his regard for truth and God then I reckon this world would be a better place.

I honour him because he’s a noble man. I honour him because he’s a diligent man. I honour him because he is a wise man. I honour him because he is a humble man. I honour him because he does not need acclaim or attention, he doesn’t seek agreement on everything he believes. I honour him because whether he likes it or not, he is an honourable man worthy of the honour.

Who is he? Well, you can read him for yourself.

What The Spirit Says series will return next week.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.