My Eyes Are On You

Dear Loving, Righteous, Heavenly Father:

When I don’t know what to do, my eyes are on You.

Seasons come and seasons go and it’s so easy to miss the flow whilst looking to settle in what appears to be for the moment and not moving on from that. I hear You when You talk about what You have taken me out of. You’ve taken me out of darkness into marvellous light.

Here in that light there is a different way of being and yet at times, Lord, I don’t know what to do. I feel uncertain.

So many voices, so many suggestions, so many instructions and in as much as You say that in the multitude of counsel there is safety, I know that it is not wise to remain paralysed by the plethora of information.

I long for You, dear Lord, to know Your leading and to follow in the steps You lay out. I only ever want to do and be what is pleasing to You. I only ever want to be pleasing to You. I know that this is not about anxiety over failing You, because You give perfect peace to those whose minds are stayed on You. The relationship has always been about grace and all that You do through the Spirit You give me. I don’t feel under pressure there.

Yet I do get those moments, Lord, where I don’t know what to do.

I don’t know. But I know You know. I know You care and I know you will guide and direct. I know because of what Your Word highlights about you doing that for so many others before me. I know because of the way You have led many in my peer group – how they have done great exploits for You. I know because you have remained faithful all through my life in the varying seasons. I don’t doubt that You lead.

Yet still, I get those moments, where I don’t know what to do.

But thank You, Lord that in those moments of uncertainty I have this assurance.

When I don’t know, my eyes are on You.

I look to You, Almighty God. I place my trust in You.

For Your Name’s Sake, Lord

Your son, Christopher Dryden

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.