JJ 24 #24: Promptly

There was a time when the mobile device was viewed with suspicion and scepticism. I know—hard to believe, right? But it’s a true story. Some suggested that it could lead to the breakdown of society. Those doom merchants had similar things to say about many technological advances over the last few decades.

It’s interesting to see that some of those who were saying woe betide anyone using that device are the same ones using those devices without any shame about their previous position. I’m not suggesting that I’m on board with every technological development. I’m not a champion for the latest gizmo and device that apparently is here to make life easier and more convenient. It’s just that what technology does a brilliant job of is reflecting our purpose and use of it. That is to say, it’s not the internet, mobile devices, or smart gadgetry that bothers me. It’s more how we can either demonise or idolise it and render ourselves somewhat useless in the process.

This brings us to the interesting situation with AI. I will not be passing comment in terms of committing myself to a strong position on the matter. I will be passing comment on an aspect of it that I find intriguing: the power of the prompt. I applaud the concept. Put the prompt in and something emerges that reflects the fulfilment of the prompt.

I’m sure I’m not the first or last person who sees that mimicking creation. God prompts – you know the rest. Of course, the idea behind the prompt with AI is that it’s input on something complexly designed to respond like a human being without the hassle of everything that goes with being human. Hence, the idea of just using intelligence. Yet, it still brings me back to how God operates. The call of Abram – it’s a prompt followed up by a series of other prompts that certainly delivered what God required, even if the process to get there was messy, to say the least. The call of David – it’s a prompt that gets Samuel to pop over to Bethlehem and go looking for the son of Jesse. And that search was only conducted properly according to the correct prompt allowing Samuel to not just pick the first hombre that showed up … or the second … or the third …

Reflecting on my journey with Jesus makes me grateful to God that He still operates by prompts. It’s not necessarily the audible voice from the clouds that says, “Cometh onto me, my child because thou canst only understandest me if I speaketh to thee in an English last frequently spoken over four hundred years ago.” There is a sense, however, in which those prompts are there.

I look at the prompt inviting me to take Jesus seriously as the source of light for my life. It really was a blinding experience for me at a time when I thought all there was in my life was darkness, and then His light shone through. I look at the prompt that encouraged me to make the most of the words I loved. People commented about it. Opportunities came to use the words, and as I took those opportunities, the prompt was fulfilled. There are prompts I could refer to that led to pivotal relationships being developed. There are prompts I could talk about which brought about some amazing turns in fortune for me. Some of these prompts are precious encounters of the divine kind. Some of them in my low ebbs of hopeless despair. Some in intriguing moments of challenge and exhilaration. Some of them among wonderful people of God. Some of them alone on a stroll somewhere.

OK, I confess, I’ve input the occasional prompt in some AI generator and find the process amusing. The reality of God operating by the Word input in men and women, though, is far more glorious than whatever ChatGPT can produce. He speaks and that triggers something in us to respond in such a way that we commit our lives to building an ark or, leaving our home or, taking on a conflict, or exercising a key responsibility. He speaks, and we turn from worthless idols to the living God and engage in a lifetime of fulfilling all the prompts He makes clear in His written Word. He speaks and we turn from pathetic pursuits to the eternal quest to make known the wonder of the Living Word. He speaks and the power of His word generates in us results that we could not have believed possible but are now a reality because that’s how He operates. His Word does not return empty or with a funny-looking image that bears no resemblance to what He said or with a text that’s making up half the content to come across compelling. His Word accomplishes what He sets it out to do, and though the process may appear somewhat messy at times, the outcome, as far as He’s concerned, is perfect.

It’s worth acknowledging that God is not the only one typing out prompts in our world. It’s worth acknowledging that what passes for society and culture has been and continues to be hugely influenced by forces that suggest alternative prompts. As much as we want to vaunt our free will and autonomy, as much as we want to champion how we can reach our conclusions, we are nevertheless still prone to the prompts from those who do not have our best interests at heart. Those prompts appeal and dazzle; they may promise so much that generates desire and yearning, but the outcomes are despair and dismay.

This technological development is another glorious opportunity to refer people back to the Original Intelligence. Not just refer back to the Original Intelligence as though it’s just a thinking being, but because the Original Thought is the best. Everything else isn’t just a pale imitation, it should act as a prompt to return to the Original and be fulfilled with all the knowledge, understanding and wisdom we require to generate righteousness, peace and joy.

We don’t have to be consumed by evil in any of its manifestations – idolatry or fearful withdrawal. We can overcome evil with good as we’re called to do by the loving Creator of the Universe. It’s something that He calls us to do … promptly.

For His Name’s Sake

C. L. J. Dryden

Shalom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.