Pilgrim’s End 

Among other things that have happened this year has been the growing appreciation for others who excel in the areas I love. 

I have come across some brilliant creative types who have helped me considerably by displaying their creative prowess. That has reminded me that I got into blogging and persisted in it because of what I read from others. 

A few years ago I came across A Pilgrim’s Progress and really loved Eric’s writing. His approach to church, encouragement in discipleship as well as his updates on his running was great stuff to me. So there is a degree of sadness to find out his season of blogging has come to an end. He is not the first blogger I love who finished with blogging. It’s odd and it’s sad to a degree. Sad that they won’t be continuing with stimulating and edifying content. 

I appreciate the reasoning behind it, though and it’s certainly worth remembering that not everything we do is supposed to be done for as long as we live. Being precious about Jesus does not necessarily mean we do the same thing, in the same way, in the same place all the time. Seasons come and seasons go. It’s good to know when to finish something. 

More importantly in as much as there won’t be new material, there is quite a wealth of content left behind to check. The nature of that content as well means it won’t get dated or irrelevant. As I have experienced time and again, material from across the years about Jesus, church, Discipleship and life can be as fresh and engaging today as it was when it was written. I think Eric’s material can be celebrated for that and I am grateful for the wealth of riches available. 

I encourage you to check the site out. See for yourself and be blessed. As you do that continue to pray that Eric will continue to be a blessing to his circle of influence and grow in the grace and knowledge of Jesus Christ. 

Thank you, Eric! 

For His Name’s Sake 

Shalom 

C. L. J. Dryden 

Leave a Reply

