So Much To Write – So Little Time

Death is a topic some people avoid. You know the concerns – it’s being morbid, it’s a bit depressing, there’s nothing that good to say about it and for some it triggers some pretty traumatic memories. As death is inevitable, though, I don’t mind thinking and taking about the matter from time to time.

I am not usually talking about what I want done with me when it happens, I’m more interested in what it means and what can be done to be prepared for it as much as we can. I want to learn to mourn well and I want to learn how the hope I have in the Resurrection and the Life informs how I approach death. In any case, when I do bring up death it does remind me that to a large degree I have no idea when I’m going to die – I haven’t been given the scoop as to when, where and how. That’s more of a spur to get me looking how I can make the most of being alive now.

There is so much I could write about and yet if my heroes have taught me anything is that the writing comes after the reading. The speaking comes after the listening. The activating comes after the praying. It’s always that way because we are responsive beings and the One who initiates the conversation can help steer and guide how to make the most of the time that we’re alive if we pay attention to that order.

This brings me to the point of my continued love of writing. So much more I could write on a range of issues, but what may happen in time to come is that I’ll not be so quick to just write something – but to stop and listen, read and contemplate and process before doing the writing a bit more. Certain areas I want to share about and there’s a particular project up the sleeve that I want to bring out of the sleeve. It’s all in good time and all as I learn to be sensitive to following.

Just giving the heads up to where I’m at with the writing thing. Also to encourage you to make the most of living while you can because it is inevitable that one day we won’t be living  … well not like this anyway.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

