Open Doors, Closed Doors

Access approved. Access denied.

Whether it’s a door you’re trying to get open or a website you’re looking to get on, those phrases can be the difference between a relatively content experience and a frustrating one.

There’s a very good woman I know who clings dearly to a word that’s mentioned by Jesus in Revelation 3. To the church in Philadelphia, Jesus identifies Himself as one who has the keys of David and opens doors no one can shut and shuts doors no one can open. He goes on to establish for the sake of the longsuffering saints in the city of brotherly love that he has set before them an open door that no one can shut. Now I know that this good woman clings onto that word because for her there is an assurance that no matter what opposition may come to try and frustrate her in her efforts with Jesus, as long as He has opened the door, as long as she knows that, she is given greater confidence to proceed knowing the opposition cannot block the way that’s been opened for her.

It was brought to my attention recently that it’s good to know Jesus holds the keys and can either allow or deny access. It’s reassuring to know that as the Gate Himself as He describes Himself in John 10, He will not allow access to those that do not belong to Him. He will ensure that those who are in Hi are those who belong and all the opposing forces will be met by the simple phrase – access denied. For so long I didn’t appreciate this. Then when I got to considering again the great love with which He loves me and has done so much to protect me from dangers seen and unseen, His role as the Gate and Protector allowing and disallowing forces has got me thinking maybe it’s about time I built my trust and confidence in Him.

It’s also a challenge for me to be aware of where He’s giving me access and where He isn’t. Places I may very well want to go and things I want to do, with all the good intentions in the world, He may very well be shutting the door to that. Whereas He is opening doors to the right opportunities for me to see Him glorified – if I am sensitive to that, I can find myself walking into experiences that will see me changed all the more into His image and character.

It’s all about every being obedient to the One who has the keys that locks and unlocks the pertinent doors that allow access.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

