Psalm 118 – You Have Become My Salvation 

To be honest with you, different Psalms bring out different responses in me. Some are interesting, some are challenging, some take a while to grab my interest, some are heart-wrenching. 

This Psalm, however, evoked such a wild reaction in me I could not hold back the tears of adoration and acclamation to the Lord who has become my salvation. Reading of how the Psalmist was about to give up but God strengthened him and he enjoyed cutting down the enemy around him was deeply profound and inspirational. 

My enemies are not people from warring sides, they are the fears and anxieties, they are the pride and smug satisfaction, they are spiritual forces that look to discourage, distract and depress me. They have sought to kill me for years and have only intensified. But they are cut down in the name of the Lord. They are cut down every time they rise up because God has become my salvation. No wonder it’s worth our praise and adoration. No wonder the Lord’s doing is marvellous in our eyes. 

I couldn’t go through this Psalm without massive praises to God and I certainly have a greater and deeper appreciation for this Psalm than ever before. 

For His Name’s Sake 

Shalom 

C. L. J. Dryden 

Leave a Reply

