Psalm 33 – Get Some Perspective

It is an incredibly self-centred world we can live in. The immediacy and urgency of the now in me and the needs that drive me from outside and within can allow perspective to be very small. changes take place that appear to put me at a disadvantage while others who don’t share my beliefs are prospering. They are doing well on the surface and others are getting crushed in the meantime.

Just a little beyond me changes are taking place in the world leading to a lot of people having concerns and anxieties about how the world is turning out. It looks as though things are spiralling out of control and no one seems to be there to do anything about it.

Once you get a different perspective on things it can change everything including the response to the seemingly bad things. Once you take a few steps away and get an elevated look on things, it’s not that the evil isn’t there, it’s that it’s put in its proper place.

That’s why Psalms like the 33rd one are so important. We can praise him with the instruments and celebrate Him and desire to get closer to Him, because He gives some indication of a better perspective on things. That perspective comes with trust and experience. That perspective comes with trusting His character and seeing Him come through on the small and large scale.

The sovereignty of God is what’s celebrated in this Psalm and that perspective on Him being sovereign should influence and shape how we see what we see. Blessed folks who can live with a great reduction in anxiety are those who trust in the God who is sovereign.

They may think they have won the day in their ruling, but God will show who really rules and overrules in the affairs of man.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Dryden Update – February 2017

January is over. Thank God.

I did not hate January. Lots of positive steps occurred in the month, developments in one or two pursuits I have had in mind. One of my favourites is coming across the Anchor app. It’s not about ships at sea, thankfully, it’s a brilliant device for conversations and audio snippets of no more than two minutes. Terrific tool that will be a platform I intend to use more often.

January was also the month in which I got the Psalms writing going and I am grateful to God that it’s on track so far albeit having only completed over a fifth of the way through. One or two people have noticed that there’s some sort of countdown going on on my Twitter feed and wondering what’s that all about. Well what it is about is … something that I’ll be happy to share nearer the time.

Married life remains a source of great inspiration and I’m glad for that. Children are well and being children and I’m glad for that.

Church is interesting in a number of different ways. Opportunities cropping up in that as well. Most importantly good conversations are taking place leading us to consider Christ deeply and wants from us. That’s very positive.

January has also offered the chance to be able to make a note or two on plans for progress and some of those have started already. Others have to wait for a month or three while certain other things are sorted, but it’s reassuring to know that there isn’t procrastination in taking the steps necessary to see those plans begin to take some shape.

So that’s how things are going on the Dryden front. I have some desires for February. Some places I am going. Some places I want to go with others. Some things I want to materialise to liberate me from some other things from which I need liberating. As well as the ongoing desire to get deeper in knowing Jesus, by His Spirit, through His Word, in His Body of believers to the world He desires to be lightened by His presence made known. That is my desire.

One hugely helpful thing in these proceedings has been the greater place of prayer in my life – individually and as part of a body of believers. Learning to love Him more in and through prayer is a great experience. An experience I want to grow in more. I know I need the strength of the Lord to wake up in the morning, let alone be about any of the things He has called me to do. I know I need His strength and that increasingly comes from just enjoying and loving his presence through prayer.

Well, onwards and upwards dear reader. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and like the work that gets posted on here.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden