YIR16 – 06 – Back to Basics

June was not the first month of being relieved of certain burdens I had taken on unnecessarily. It was however a great month to return to the basics. 

Those basics are appreciating who I am as a man of God; recognising my responsibilities as a husband, father, brother and friend; then in addition to this being mindful to only walk in what I was called to do. 

There is also something basic about being a follower of Jesus that should give me the desire to share that good news with others. June was a great month because I joined with others in looking again at that basic impulse of a disciple of Jesus Christ to be about sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. 

It can sometimes appear humbling to return to the basics, but it was essential for me and I am glad I did it. Doing so refreshed my appreciation for God and for my family. It gave me something that I cherished – renewed love for God. 

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

