December Thanks #19: Journal

This year saw the birth of Christopher Journeyman.

A big reason for that was my recognition of the importance of the journey in my life and what it was to pay more attention to that. Who set the journey, the purpose of the journey, the scenery in the journey, the stops along the journey, the deviations from the journey, exhilarating moments in the journey – all that needed to be a lot more intentional in my life rather than just taking it for granted or worse still missing the whole point of it.

What has proven to be a valuable resource in the journey has been a journal. As I have mentioned before, I am not one to diligently maintain a diary. I do however make occasional notes and records of thoughts on a variety of issues. I will be at an event and make notes on it, I will be sitting through a meeting and making notes on it, I will be inspired by something and make a note on it. It has been tremendous to be able to do that.

A mega big part of that has been down to Evernote, an application that has been so useful for me to be able to do all that. Having used it for three years now, this year has been particularly noteworthy. (Geddit?) I looked back on some of the notes I made at the start of the year and was amazed at how much has been fulfilled without me being conscious of it at this time of the year. So great to see the faithfulness of God all the way through the journey of the year. Recently I was sharing with some friends how,  often,  you would need to move to really show out all that you are. Growth rarely takes place in the comfort zone, that’s why you move into areas unknown. That is a journey and it can be great to see how far you have come in the journey through records made in the journal.

As the Bible is God’s Word in it we get to consider how God reveals Himself along the journey to Jesus and beyond. People were taking notes. People were keeping the journal for God. I am thankful that He has given me the mind to recall and record the steps I have made in life’s journey. I am so glad it has been a resource highlighting God’s greatness and as a pilgrim and sojourner, it is something for which I am forever grateful.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

