December Thanks #18: Bed

Psalm 23 is a great comfort to recite and consider when thinking of life and the reassurance that it is being lead by the Good Shepherd.

Recently I was reflecting on the aspect of being made to lie down in green pastures. Living in a layout where our idea of green pastures is the local park, I actually think of my bed. I don’t give my bed the credit it deserves, but in the larger scheme of things it has been, literally, a tremendous support. Sometimes I don’t know when to stop, but there is something about getting comfortable in bed that screams the need to stop the activity because there is a good time to stop.

Not only stop but be embraced by some hours of refreshment and inner regeneration. As I wake up in the morning, it’s one thing to have slept and it becomes all the more a privilege to have enjoyed that sleep on a sound and sturdy piece of apparatus.

It has been with me in good times and bad. It is something I am growing to richly appreciate. It’s also something I share with the woman I love more than any other in the world! So for that reason and more I am forever grateful.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

