Treasure Greater Than Any Other

There is a treasure greater than any other.

There are chores that I am given to do as part of my life. Whether it’s washing the clothes or washing up the plates or vacuum cleaning or whatever, these chores are done and I can do them almost on automatic pilot. Yet sometimes I am able to do these chores as though they are the most profound experiences in my life because of the treasure that is greater than any other.

There are hobbies and interests I have that capture my interest. I can converse on them with like-minded friends for hours on end. There is much to discuss and to get to the nitty-gritty and all of that can be good. For all of that, however, those conversations are given true perspective when it’s taken in the light of the treasure that is greater than any other.

Treasuring something – valuing something of great worth has profound consequences on all of life. I have not always appreciated that and sometimes taken it for granted. Not treasuring it as I should and proceeding to treat it as an optional extra or a lovely convenience. This devalues it significantly … in my eyes, not in terms of its actual inestimable worth.

When times like that may slowly creep over me, His grace is so timely in bringing me back to the things that matter. His mercy is so evident in patiently waiting for me to look again at what I know to be this great treasure.

To know and grow in knowing the love of God through Jesus Christ. To see His love displayed in His glorious Kingdom. To admire what He says in His Word and consider how it reveals Him and his plan for the world. To behold the beauty of His holiness. To reflect on Him in awe and wonder. In that light then living in a way pleasing to Him in every way. Following Him where He leads and doing what He has shown to do.

This is the treasure greater than any other.

Jesus Christ is the treasure greater than any other.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

