The Honour In Being A Blessing

Apparently someone said it is more blessed to give than receive. As that is the case, givers must be hugely blessed indeed.

Recently I had the privilege of being a part of a special family birthday brunch. The person celebrating the birthday is not my blood relative, but because of Christ and the impact they made on my life a while back, I was able to share in this touching and meaningful occasion. Around the table was a father who helped me in the tough transition between childhood and adulthood and appreciating Jesus in it all. There was a mother whose patience was exemplary in dealing with me in aspects of those transition stages. There was a daughter who had never disrespected me and was only ever polite and friendly. There was a son who allowed me to be his friend and we developed a really good rapport. Around the table there were people who made it their point to be a blessing to me. Here I was back again sharing in this occasion because of the honour of being a blessing – not as the giver, but as the recipient. Yet it was an experience that forever impacted how I considered how to engage with others.

After that episode I was talking with my Authrine about a certain friend who has been a constant in my life for over ten years. He was a constant during some of the darkest episodes of my life. He was a constant through the many moves we made in those ten years. He was a constant source of friendship, advice and support. We had something in common, but I have that thing in common with a number of people. It was not enough in itself to be such a constant. There was a quality in him that ensured the friendship lasted over the years. He never said anything negative to me, but was still straight and honest in even some of the less advisable moves I made.

There is a great honour in being a blessing. It is the honour that’s far greater than material goods or other accolades and recognition. It is the honour that good mothers receive because of their selfless efforts in being a blessing to their children. It is the honour that brothers receive because of their commitment to loyalty, integrity and building up others. It is the honour bestowed by the great Giver those who realise and exercise that great truth.

For apparently someone said it is more blessed to give than receive. As that is the case, givers are hugely blessed indeed. Here’s to the honour in being a blessing.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

