My Word

Back in the day, I loved the commentary styles of the likes of David Coleman, Brian Moore, Barry Davies and John Motson. If you’re not interested in sport and English commentary on the variety of sport then this won’t mean much to you, but it meant heaps to me for years. Apparently there was some large global multi-sport experience that took place recently, but I was not that interested in any aspect of it. I didn’t watch any of the events and the results mattered very little to me. The event itself, though, reminded me of the 1980’s into the early 1990’s when I paid more attention to the competition and it was the commentary that had me hooked. In and amongst the excitement the commentators would bring to the action I can hear ringing in my ears the distinguished and considered phrases used to describe the elation and exhilaration of key moments in the competition. One phrase that was distinct and expressed exclamation brilliantly was the simple phrase, ‘My word’. It was so sweet hearing that phrase to convey the heightened level of attention to that which the commentator beheld. 

Decades later and the phrase has added meaning and value to me. It says something of my ambition in doing and saying. It says something about my desire to be an ever more effective and excellent communicator carrying across Christ in any setting I am in. It says something about the joy I have in cherishing the value of what emits from me when inspired by God in spoken or written form. It says something about the legacy in the hearts and minds of others when they recall experiences with me. Others have their music, their craft, their culinary delights, their mesmerising dance, their awe-inspiring architecture, their compassion for children, their ability to create communal facilities that enhances life for others. I dedicate my life again to employing the greatest gift God has given me. It’s for the benefit of others and for the glory of His Name. It may not mean much to some, but it will mean life for others. I dedicated my life to joyfully use that gloriously simple phrase. 

My word. 

For His Name’s Sake 

Shalom 

C. L. J. Dryden 

Leave a Reply

