I Love Philosophy and … 

A group of us were doing some evangelism training. One of the best things about the training is the space to explore the concepts together. People make great inputs and our understanding of things is at least heightened. 

One issue on the matter of sin arose. I asked a question and that unleashed an on-rush of great comment on the nature of man and the goodness of God. It was great stuff. From that I was labelled ‘the philosopher’ and ‘the theologian’. It’s not the first time I have received such labels and at the time I had a bad reaction as it triggered some bad memories of being excluded from others because I was considered a brainy type that couldn’t talk to others unless it was in bug words. Thankfully, though, this was a good group of people who enjoyed jesting, so I eventually took it in that way and things were fine. 

It made me remember, however, that I do love philosophy. I like all those questions about why we do and why we believe and why we are the way we are. I love all that. It’s great stuff … 

And … 

In as much as I love all of that and as beneficial as it is perceiving underlying motives and drivers in the individual and collective expression, I am also very aware that it is not philosophy that can change the nature of a human being. In fact it is seeing the various ways in which we look to negotiate around and away from God that fascinates me so much and makes me all the more concerned to be aware of the godly thinking I need to develop to present in response to the various philosophies underpinning behaviour today. 

I am not ashamed of my love of philosophy. More importantly I am not ashamed of the gospel of Jesus Christ that continues to be of greater significance than the most compelling philosophies humanity has devised. I depend on Jesus more than ever to think right! 

For His Name’s Sake 

Shalom 

C. L. J. Dryden 

Leave a Reply

