Ten Years of Abigail Dryden

It’s a great privilege to be alive. It’s also a great privilege to be married. It’s also a great privilege to be the father of three beautiful, healthy and vibrant children. Days like today are opportunities to express gratitude for that privilege.

In particular today gives me the chance to express gratitude specifically for the life of my middle child. As a middle child myself, I like that shared bond that Abigail and I share. Beyond that there’s not that much that we have in common. She is athletic, physical, cool, energetic, diligent in care and incredibly sensitive. Not many of those words would be associated with me, which makes it all the greater a privilege to be her Dad.

There is so much I appreciate about Abigail. Her ability to get on and do something and the degree of inner strength that she has is remarkable. She is already one of the strongest people I know and that is hugely admirable for someone so young. She fills my heart with great delight and I know greatness is in her just by the degree of external and internal opposition she has already endured. It’s why her commitment to being a joy and delight is so commendable.

The completion of her tenth year on the planet signifies the end of her childhood decade. She now embarks on her eleventh year and my prayer for her is to continue enjoy her childhood, to be free to be what she can be at this age without succumbing to pressures to think about too much too early that she cannot do yet and get on with making the most of what she can do now.

She is my beautiful middle child and more. She is the gift from God and like her biblical namesake I trust wisdom will be aligned to her beauty so all around her will be duly convinced that this girl is not just a gift to me but to them and the wider world as a whole.

10 years completed, and I hope her life is spared and enriched to delight in experiencing a lot more decades. It’s a privilege to be her Dad and I love her immensely.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

1 thought on “Ten Years of Abigail Dryden”

  1. Just want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

