Journeyman Journal – Onwards

Onwards.

There is a time for reflection and considering the lessons to learn from the past. It’s quality time to do so and in the Scripture we have something that keeps reverting to lots of things that have happened in the yesteryear. I endorse the thought that says failure to learn from the past leaves you prone to repeat the same mistakes.

There are a plenty of mistakes to learn from in my story so far. There’s every chance that I could allow them to define me and hold me back, hold me down and keep me in a stronghold for the rest of my life. Yet one critical truth of the past is that one day I agreed to God being the ruler of the universe and my universe. That means as a result the mistakes of the past have no power of any hold on me, unless I give it permission. Otherwise I acknowledge that God is greater than my mistakes, God is greater than my inadequacy, God is greater than my failings, God is greater than my successes, God is greater than my victories, God is greater than my abilities, God is greater than my ambitions. Whatever I can think of, whatever I can complain about, whatever it is, God is greater. That truth is liberating when I dwell on it.

As I dwell on it the reality hits home all the more that the lessons of the past are to keep my eyes ahead and mind focused onwards to following Jesus wherever He leads me. I may be down, but I am not defeated. I may be wounded but I am not without hope. Looking to Jesus reassures me that there are brighter days ahead. Looking to Jesus reminds me that there is a mission to be about. Looking to Jesus reassures me that I never walk alone. Looking to Jesus tells me that there is a time to reflect, there’s a time to be refreshed, there’s a time to rest, but after that …

Onwards.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

