Journeyman Journal – Passion

There’s a truth worth appreciating. It’s a truth I am reminded of from time to time. It’s captured in a verse of Scripture.

Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.

I used to see this as a cashcard promise from God. If I praise Him then He will get me my stuff. I want sweets and chocolates? I praise Him, I get it. I want great grades at university? I praise Him, I get it. I want some respite from grief at home? I praise Him, I get it. That was my thinking. Later it was explained to me that what this highlighted was what I really wanted – the stuff, not God. God was the means of getting the stuff I was more interested in and thus my mood would be affected by God’s success in getting me my stuff.

That might appear somewhat immature for those material things, but I discovered that the impulse was somewhat prevalent in how some promoted faith in God. Believe God to get you your stuff. God is the means of the stuff you want – better this, bigger that, more of the other. God is the means.

The problem with that is that it’s a gross misuse and misunderstanding of God. Which is why the first part of the verse encourages us to delight ourselves in the Lord. He is not just the means, He has to be the end. He has to be our delight. Then everything else acts as a means in themselves and as such even if we do without them, we still have the end in mind with the promise of His presence in the meantime.

There is something about that then that looks at taking pleasure in just getting to know God. Letting that inform all of life. He is the one in whom there is delight.

That’s a precious truth worth appreciating.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

