Journeyman Journal – Ownership

There’s a lot to be said for knowing what belongs to you.

Owning stuff is something, but knowing that before the stuff there’s knowing I own myself. My words, my thoughts, my actions, my behaviour – all of these belong to me. The words on here are words that come from me and so I stake a claim to own them. The ideas that shape the training sessions I deliver as coming from me, belong to me. I own them, I own me!!! Well, I did own myself.

I don’t really own me. I am owned by God. I belong to Hi, everything that I produce of worth and beauty is sponsored by Him – it’s His. What’s interesting about that statement is that it also suggests that anything else I produce – the ugly, the misguided, the ignorant, the mistakes – they are also His as well. I would say that He is not the author of the wrong I do. I take responsibility. It doesn’t take away from the fact, though, that I belong to God. I am His.

What that means for the rest of my life and what I do and how I do it continues to have massive implications.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

2 thoughts on “Journeyman Journal – Ownership”

  1. There’s a lot of freedom in this. He knew exactly what he was getting into when he accepted us; my attempts at earning redemption are futile in the face of his gift.

Leave a Reply

