Journeyman Journal – Time

A much wiser man than I remarked that there is a time for every season under the sun.

One of my favourite TV programmes is about a man who travels through time and space. the concept of time intrigues me and the knowledge that there is a time for everything intrigues me further. Past, present and future all bring with them concerns and reasons to be joyful.

A critical skill is knowing what time it is. Is it time to move, or is it time to stay. I it time to say something or is it time to keep quiet. Is this family time or is this work time. Lots of issues have come up because I have not been able to tell the time. I have upset relationships and messed up good opportunities all down to bad timing.

There have also been occasions where the timing has been so smooth and well taken that it is as sweet as six Cherry Bakewell Tarts along with a triple chocolate cake and a one litre bottle of Lucozade. Those occasions where I am in place and have prepared what I can and then open my moth to speak and words flow far greater than preparation ever called for. Ideas and phrases flowing more smoothly and people’s eyes opening to that which God has placed in me. I sat there at the right time and experienced such outpourings of love and kindness that overwhelmed me. All because of the timing.

Walking with Jesus has for me been a matter of timing and yet the time is now to seek ever more an understanding of the timing He needs to be aware of so I can be a blessing for His glory.

It makes it all the more imperative that I make the most of the time I have.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

