Journeyman Journal – Valuable

The lesson will not leave me alone.

Whatever I spend my thoughts on and eventually my time and energy is effectively what I find to be most valuable in my life. It’s all well and good talking about what I spend money on, that’s a fair external marker, yet the heart, the time and the energy are great indicators.

Back in the day it was easy to see the great value I placed on football. I could be in a religious setting, singing songs about God because Mum had the look that suggested it would be in my best interests to do so. Yet inside I was wondering what the score was, who played well and if I would get to watch the highlights later that night. The books I got from the library were football dominated. I could talk for hours on the subject. I loved it, I treasured it, I found great value in it.

The name of the Lord didn’t interest me. I didn’t find it of much worth to me. Sure I went to church services and that, but it was something I had to do. His name meant little to me. Even when I got baptised my preoccupation was not Him and the surpassing value of His name. It took time and rough experience for me to see that nothing compared to the name of the Lord. It took me seeing that football, Stevie Wonder, money, philosophy, writing, family, church activities, politics, work and reputation meant absolutely nothing in and of themselves. If they had any merit and worth they came enriched and beautified through the prism of the name of the Lord.

Life taught me and teaches me that finding great value – the greatest value in the name of the Lord makes everything worthwhile. So when I come across hymns and songs that bring me back to the great value in His name it does a great job of rousing my spirit and returning my heart to what matters most.

That’s all because of the meaning of the name …

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

