Journeyman Journal – Freedom

… Out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery.

This journey was not my idea.

It was my heart’s deepest desire, but years of mental slavery made it a pipe dream. Those years of slavery in the land that looked to define me in its pomp and power almost crushed any sense of hope. Any sense of hope I did have flickered with failure after failure.

Yet the self-sufficient One, rescued me. By His mighty hand He saw my condition and saw that I needed to be delivered. He also knew that in liberating me, the biggest area would be in my mind. He knew the entrenched mental slavery that saw me less than He saw me and then switch at the sign of great success to be complacent and think more of myself than I should. He saw the condition and knew the solution.

The solution was to take me out. Take me on a journey with Him, to know Him deeper and love Him more. In doing so it would reveal the depths of the slavery and the greatness of His grace to deliver me through it all.

To know Him more would be to know others less. To love Him more would be to give up the love I had for others. To walk with Him would mean treasuring Him above all.

This could be done when I realised what He rescued me from, what He took me out of and what He was taking me into. When I realised just how great and deep His love was for me.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

