16MTP 03 – Take The Chipping Away

My son, do not despise the LORD’s discipline or be weary of his reproof, for the LORD reproves him whom he loves, as a father the son in whom he delights. (Proverbs 3:11, 12 ESV)

One of the reasons why it’s worth focusing on wisdom is that it is a treasure chest that enriches the human experience far greater than any material wealth could ever express.

Studying the book of Proverbs never gets dull or repetitive when considered as an integral part of the treasure chest. For example in exploring chapter 3 there are so many deep and strong themes and statements that are made that to do justice to any of them is much ore than this blog entry can do. Thus it’s not so much about doing justice to the theme as just sharing how one of them resonates with me at this moment in my life.

Discipline. Not a pleasant experience at all. Reading the writer of Proverbs encouraging his son to take it and see it from the father’s perspective implies one thing – that walking with God will mean some unpleasant experiences. That’s not always conveyed in the pitch to walk with God – it’s not a great selling point, especially if we’re pitching it to people who are looking for maximum pleasure with the minimum pain.

The reason for the discipline, however, and the outcome it derives should be a diving motivator to persist through it. That’s something, but what the writer of Proverbs says about it is the one that truly hits home in terms of what’s important. discipline reflects the delight of the Father in the children.

I remember someone having a go at me for the things I was doing that were not right. It seemed like they were chipping away at me. It was only later on that I discovered that they were were chipping away at me – they were chipping away the stuff that was bring me down. They were chipping away at me so I would be a more refined human being believing and behaving in a way that reflected how much I belonged to God. They were to nagging at me, they were chipping away at me – because they evidently took delight in who I am and who I am to be.

That;s the love of the Lord towards those in whom He delights. That’s why it is worth our while sticking with God as He takes us through the necessary discipline.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

