Ideas, Schemes, Plans and Dreams

Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the LORD that will stand. (Proverbs 19:21)

My mentor was a great inspiration in the purpose of planning. Before him, I really did just drift along from one activity to another usually at the behest of someone else. I’m surprised I made it to university to study, such was my tendency to just go along with whatever someone else was saying should be the case.

Having said that, it wasn’t as though plans were alien to me. I had loads of ideas for plays, films, television series and the like. I wrote notes on these ideas full of excitement imagining one day I would be able to realise all of these. I remember my notes would have  a list of producer, director, editor and other credits and modestly I would populate most of those credits. An incident happened at the home in which I was brought up that meant that all of those notes were destroyed. I’m sure it was an accident, it’s just that I find it difficult to resolve that, as does the assassin I hired to seek out those responsible. I jest, of course. I can’t afford decent assassins.

In any case, my mentor did a great job pointing me to the benefits of planning. As I grew up I saw and experienced that I tend to do better when I’m working to a plan – it doesn’t stifle spontaneity and creativity, but it does provide much needed focus and motivation from time to time.

Reflecting on my brief sojourn in life and even the incident of those destroyed notes, I can see the wisdom in what the compiler of Proverbs suggested in the scripture reference above. I have sometimes got so excited over the latest idea and plan that I get carried away forgetting another set of plans and ideas I’ve had previously. In all the excitement and the craze of the latest thing it dissipates quickly and leaves behind God’s plan, God’s idea. It’s good to discipline myself to accepting all the stuff that’s in my head, and then put them to God to see through consultation and experience what path to take.

It does not hinder the ideas that burst out of me from time to time. Indeed often an idea I put to the backburner today will be very useful either for me or someone else tomorrow. It’s just to focus on what God wants to do and commit to that wholeheartedly.

It would be remiss of me, however, to finish this without saying that it’s well worthwhile making and keeping a note of ideas, schemes, plans and dreams as they come along. I’m grateful for apps like Evernote that make it possible to make those notes for reference later.

Those notes can inspire others to pursue God’s plans, schemes, ideas and dreams for His glory and the benefit of others.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

