Staying In Depth Even When You’re Out Of Your Depths

Swimming.

I am not a swimmer. There have been occasions when I have been in a swimming pool. I know how not to drown. Beyond that, I am not a swimmer, really.

I am, however, familiar with the concept and have particularly applauded those who have no problems swimming in large areas. That is something I would be petrified of and for others to take great pleasure in doing it is another of those ‘can’t do it, so admire those who can’ issues.

Life in faith, though, has sometimes been like going swimming in a very large area. At first as paddle and wade in there’s safety because familiar land is not far away. As you get to swimming proper, there comes a point where you look back and can no longer see the land where you’re coming from, yet the destination cannot be seen either. That’s a daunting sight. All around is water and familiar though water is, it still has an element of being in the unknown. Whilst there it’s only crucial to keep swimming.

My life in faith feels like that because a lot of the land of where I was seems so distant. Those familiarities no longer fit the current realities. Things such as my home life with parents and siblings – gone. Affinity to the way we did church is almost unrecognisable to me now. Ways that I would get on  with my life don’t fit anymore. Even the way I relate to my friends differs significantly from ten and twenty years ago.

It feels daunting at times, but I can’t afford to stop even as things get even more weird travelling in the areas that I travel. As things begin getting more unorthodox, all I can do is swim on assured that the one who set the task, sustains me in it when I rely on Him.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

