Open The Door And Take A Walk

If it was up to me, I would choose to spend most of the day indoors.

In fact the work I do and the gift I exercise legitimately gets me to spend most of my time indoors. So that’s sweet for me.

Better still, though, I love spending time indoors on my own. Reading, watching something, writing about something, thinking about something, eating something,sleeping. Love all that. Love it.

I am aware, however, that the comfort of the routine of staying indoors is actually highly unhealthy given to extremes. One of the great legacies my Dad has given me is the love of walking. I am not one of those ramblers with the stick and the boots and stuff. Having said that I do love walking. Sometimes just the liberty of walking along roads and pathways and thinking and talking and observing is so refreshing, enlightening and invigorating.

Church at times comes across like something that enjoys the indoors. Just keeping itself to itself, constructing these ideas about how life should be and how things should work out. We have a book after all and as long as we can read the book and then get others to read the book like we read the book then that can work. Especially as we read the book indoors in the cosy warmth.

Nah, I’m not talking about every expression of church, but some I’ve come across really does enjoy just staying indoors. I get the impression though, when I consider a Saviour that was out and about and then a bunch of followers who went out and about that sometimes it would help the Body of Christ to open the door and take a walk.

“What do you mean take a walk, Christopher?”

Ah ha. that would be telling, wouldn’t it! Actually I don’t want to give all the answers here, I do want to suggest, however, it’s about inhabiting the space with other people as we walk along the paths of life afforded to us. That’s a little hint. It will be intriguing to see what is out there and how we respond to that.

For his Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

