Taking It One Step At A Time

The task is huge.

When I saw for the first time how many words they needed for each essay the gulp I gave was audible in the next county. That many words? What do I look like, a novelist? How on earth am I ever going to write that many words, when I have never submitted anything with less than a quarter of that amount? I remember thoughts like these galloping freely around my head with the distant hooves of panic and dread not too far behind.

Not that I gave that impression outwardly. Obviously to my peers I had to convey the sense that I knew what was required and was quietly confident of fulfilling it, without appearing arrogant. That act was easier than the actual requirement before me.

To this day I am thankful for the guidance given to approach the task. Breaking it down to the lowest value. Understanding the need for a plan and that plan viewed in sections and those sections viewed in paragraphs. Before too long the issue wasn’t how could I write so much, it became how can I keep it down to that amount. Even there the ability to be clinical in being concise was a skill I began to develop with much help.

The consistent advice given for each task was to take it one step at a time. Good though it may be to have an idea of where you’re going and what you want to accomplish, it’s important to remember it only happens step by step.

This sounded very familiar. My Dad gave the same piece of advice. Not only gave it but exhibited it with his diligence with his family and his own enjoyable tasks such as his allotment.

When I listen to good friends of mine share their agonies and trials in pursuit of doing what’s right by God and looking to build godly relationships that feed into godly community, it’s heartbreaking. Knowing the level of abuse they go through, I wonder how they cope, how they manage to keep going. Guess what piece of advice they offered.

Kingdom business: the task is huge. How on earth are we going to go about it?

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

