Was That Really Worth It?

It’s fascinating looking at how much my life has changed over the last 20 years.

One of the major ways has been the influence of communications technology. If you had told me in 1996 that I would be able to write whatever I felt and be able to put it on a format where people around the world would be able to read it and like it. I would be amazed. If you told me I would be able to do that for free, I would fall off my chair and say that’s just not possible.

One of the really interesting developments is the growth of Twitter. There’s quite a lot I like about Twitter, though I don’t use it as often as I used to. I enjoy getting access to really good insights on the things I am interested in – both brief views on things and links to other pieces online.

Something that’s not so great about Twitter is the amount of effort and time given to comments that are at best ill-considered and at worse offensive, repulsive, ignorant and foolish. Coming across bits and pieces from people, I am left to truly wonder is the need for expression ever worth that. Is it worth sharing that with those who have the misfortune of reading it? I know. No, seriously, I know. I know that some of the people genuinely feel that way about whatever they’re writing about and they see it as the best thing to do to share that. I know. But there are seriously some things that surely SURELY they didn’t need to share it. SURELY they could see there’s no need for that.

No.

There are things that I have said and done that I look back and slap my forehead and wonder was it really worth it. Was it really worth the aggravation to ‘get that off my chest’? Was it really worth it to get my own back and be ‘smart’ with a quip to prove my vocabulary is better than yours?

Times like that I am grateful for grace.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

