YIR15 – 05 – Breaking It Up

What an intriguing month May was.

There were conversations I had with friends that challenged me on why I accept certain things. Especially accepting them having already agreed that these are idols that have been constructed to offer the mirage of safety and comfort whilst actually depleting and diminishing those who subscribe to such systems of operation.

It was also at this time that someone reminded me of the Gideon encounters with God and what happened in their aftermath. In particular the episode was brought up about how Gideon smashed up the altar to the much revered idol of his hometown.

May was a month that thrust certain modes of being in my face and highlighted again how negative they were. As well as the thrust in the face was the big question of what I would do about it and how could I bring about change?

Those challenges still inform a lot of my thought processes and decisions to this day. Long may that desire to break up all those idols we have made persist in me.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

