Thank God for … Childbirth

I didn’t pay too much attention at school to how it works.

I am not really a technical person, so when it comes to the technicalities of the stages of development that brings human beings into the world, it’s still a marvel to me. Indeed I was checking out the brilliant YouTube channel Crash Course on the human anatomy. Hank Green was going over the reproduction system in terms of pregnancy and delivery. I watched it, saw the images and at the end of it all still shrugged my head in amazement.

Grateful though I am for the scientific explanation of what is going on and how it is happening, it still emerges as one of life’s miracles.

I think of my parents and the three children they brought to humanity. I think of Mum and Dad going through the challenges of the pregnancy and childbirth and then the ensuing years of grins and grief.

I think of the three children with which God has blessed my wife and I. Their journey into the world and their progress in it remains a tremendous insight into God’s goodness. All because this amazing human structure was specifically designed to express love between a man and woman through procreation. (I know it’s not always the case, but it does happen.)

It is a marvel. It is amazing. It is to be cherished for what it is and what it brings. I wouldn’t be enjoying life without it and seeing the same joy in my own offspring.

For that I am grateful.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

