Managing Time

Elsewhere I have mentioned above my view on being bored.

I certainly used to be bored. Very easily too. I know that feeling. “There’s nothing to do. It’s so boring!” What I continue to realise all the more is that statements like that reflect my attitude to time and how to make the most of it.

Making the most of time is something I continue to need to work on. I am grateful that it is something I am consciously aware of now thanks to good people around me. One encouraged me to put a rough timetable of activities in the morning, afternoon and evening of every day of the week. Being aware of how time is something that is literally here now and gone in a second calls all the more for prioritising and treasuring moments in time, so that it can be said we have been good stewards of the time we have been given.

One encouraging use of the time that I often enjoy when I consciously embrace the invitation, is the time at the end of the day to reflect on how the day was spent. Not berating myself for not doing enough. Not being self-congratulatory about the highlights. Rather celebrating the grace of God in it all. As that celebration progresses so are the lessons learnt in the hope they will help contribute to an even more diligent approach to time.

Time management is a skill. We can learn it. God grants us the wisdom, when we ask, to be able to be great stewards of the time He graciously gives us.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

