Can I Manage?

God is not unfair.

That’s not an easy realisation to come across when stuff happens. Not every day is a joyful one for me. Sometimes I go through days that are not classed as joyful. In it all, experience teaches me that God is still there and God is not unfair.

Not unfair because He has never given me the impression that He operates like a fairy godmother making all my wishes come true. Rather His presence is there for me to remember that I submit to Him. It’s me looking to do His will not the other way around. That perspective enables me to at least see that it’s not all bad and He has equipped me to deal with things by remembering this truth: I am a steward.

By that, I don’t mean I attend football matches in a capacity to ensure no unseemly behaviour takes place. I mean I cope when I effectively manage what I have been given. I thrive when rather than moaning about what I don’t have, I make the most of what I do have with an expressed intention to show gratitude to God for it.

There are four things God gives me to be a good steward over and in the next few blog entries I hope to share how I manage those four and how I am influenced to do better. I share these in the hope that it will at the least give an insight and help.

Big thanks to my mentor who set me on the path to recognising the importance of being a good manager. Thanks to my wife who is among the best managers I know. Special thanks to the barber whose mastery in looking after my hair inspired this series.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

