Appreciating Assistance

When I needed help you were right there.

Sometimes I don’t even know how you knew, but you did and you were there. You made no demands of me. You saw I was burdened and told me to rest. You patiently waited as my stubborn way bucked against the wise counsel. Your rebuke was not a berating. You were more interested in helping me than anything else and I am grateful for that.

Thank you so much for being there. The jokes alleviated the pain so much. Your capability to empathise touched me to the deepest part of my being. That you were so sensitive and selfless did so much to develop an environment where I felt free to be naked and vulnerable before you knowing you would not take advantage of that or of me. Those songs you sent literally hit the right note. I remember listening to them on repeat and really feeling it served me and at times lifted my spirits.

Those meals we shared were so awesome. I don’t know how you found out about those places, but it was just the right atmosphere to chill, enjoy good food and drink as well as great company. For you to cover the costs for that when you knew I was broke and not make me feel obliged to repay you is such a special gift.

I never knew just how deep compassion could be until I met you. I never saw just how much in need of help I was until my dark days came and you stayed with me. It would be quite something to be able to do for others what you have done for me. With your help I look forward to experiencing that and helping others as you have helped me.

From the depth of all of me thank. I appreciate your assistance in living.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

