When There’s Love

Being exposed repeatedly to music can reside in the system for years after the first encounter.

The music of Keith Green has been in my system for around 20 years. I would not be so presumptuous to say I am an expert on all his material, but his music is still heavily influential to this day. I was listening to a song of his called When There’s Love.

Today I was thinking about what happens when there’s love.

My friend celebrates his birthday today and when I think of the huge impact he has had on my life, I am grateful for him. He brings hope, ambition, progress, a desire to help others, an integrity and a simple joy of living. So he reminds me of what life is like when there’s love.

When I was working for the YMCA, I worked for young people who were given lots of support to have a better view of themselves, their world and the opportunities to make things better for others. From local projects to regional initiatives and international events, from the presence of consolation in loss to encouragement in getting a job, in all the human realities of being flawed there was much to see of the image of God in us by the work of the place. It truly was an honour to be a part of them. That reminds me of what life is like when there’s love.

These continue to point to the example of Jesus. The life he lived, the good He did, the broken lives made whole and restored to a right relationship with the Father. All because that’s what happens when there’s love.

For His Name’s Sake
Shalom
C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

