What I Love About Abigail

Time flies by.

One moment she was a vulnerable little bundle of joy. Another moment she is not so much walking as bounding from one end of the room to the other. Yet another moment she is a bouncing girl with energy to burn.

What I love about Abigail is that she is not about talking. She is about action. From her formative years onwards she has best expressed herself by what she does. Where others will talk about it, she will get on and do it – for good or not so good.

What I love about Abigail is how sensitive she is. She is a tough girl, really, going through a tomboy phase, apparently, but for all that she is very aware and sensitive of what’s going on around her.

What I love about Abigail is she is committed to joy and fun. Movement is embedded in her, she was not designed to keep still and she is committed to a movement that’s full of joy. That degree of bounce and positivity is especially welcome when I am feeling down in the dumps. That playful aspect of her character brightens up any room she’s in.

What I love about Abigail is that she is a fighter. Something she gained from her mother is a determination and a spirit that will not give up when she focuses on what she wants. She will apply various strategies to getting what she wants and the frustration of any defeat will spur her on to do even better the next time.

There is so much to love about Abigail. Of course I would say that as her father. I don’t overlook the areas for development and the character challenges she faces. I choose to see those as parts of her growth that is necessary for what may lie ahead of her. For the present I know that God has something deep in Abigail that makes her an amazing girl. I trust I will be diligent and faithful as her Dad to support her in enjoying her childhood and further realising that which God has placed within her.

 I trust to make the most of the blessing of knowing Abigail as time flies by.

For His Name’s Sake

Shalom

C. L. J. Dryden

Leave a Reply

